Let’s go, Kaliko!

      Today was the day of the year for the kids. It was the day that all the kids plus staff and friends went to Kaliko Beach. The team went down for breakfast and the kids immediately greeted us with swimsuits on and towels in hand. We quickly ate breakfast and then loaded up the bus for a two and a half hour ride to our destination. One cool moment for me was when Madame Dio led us in a song and prayer on the bus before we left. I just never thought of praying before getting in my car before but it was the perfect way to start the trip.

     When we arrived at Kaliko the kids were delighted, to say the least. The team quickly took action changing kids into their swimsuits, blowing up floatie toys, and figuring out how to be a lifeguard for a day. I was with Sarah for a good portion of the day; even though her legs don’t work well walking, she would kick and paddle and ended up swimming!

DSC_0249

  After we swam for three hours, we had an extravagant lunch that looked and tasted delightful. I sat with Junior and another friend. I loaded my plate with a little bit of everything but I would have to say the plantains were the bomb-diggity. I did notice that Junior just had rice and beans for his first plate but for his second and third plate he tried some mac and cheese, pork, plantains, and beef stew. DSC_0260

DSCN1154

DSCN1160

After lunch it was time to take the kids down to the beach. I helped a few kids down and then went back up to help Manou. He knew right away that he wanted floaties. Since we can’t communicate with words Manou pointed to the floatation devices until he had one round inner tube and two arm floaties. Some of the kids sat on chairs to feel the ocean waves come on shore while others excitedly reached for someone on the team to go for a swim.

DSCN1165

     After a very successful day, we loaded up the kids to head back to the bus. I was so proud of Dadou because even though he hobbles, he was determined to get on the bus with no help. By the time he was on the bus he was breathing pretty heavily.  After I said, “way to go, Dadou,” he smiled, nodded, and just continued on to find his spot on the bus. Everyone was pooped and most of the kids including myself fell asleep. Overall, it was a fun, flamboyant, and fancy day!

With love from Haiti,

Delaney

DSC_0331

3 thoughts on “Let’s go, Kaliko!

  1. Fun. I wish I could go swimming in the ocean. Is that the only day all year the kids from the M house go swimming oooooo sad says Teva

  2. Thank you guys for posting daily it brings joyful tears to my eyes to see how happy the kids and all of you lookI hope all of you are staying healthy! We miss you Tay, love you bunches!! 🙂

  3. Yay! Loved going to Kaliko Beach! So fun to see how much joy it fills those kids with! Miss you all!

Leave a comment